Sauter Goes Back-to-Back

Photo Courtesy: NASCAR

Rajan Khanna/Staff Reporter

Texas Motor Speedway is always known for putting on a great Camping World Truck Series race. Many believed that Kyle Busch Motorsports driver Christopher Bell would win this race in dominating fashion, but Johnny Sauter turned that belief upside down. Sauter held off Austin Cindric to win the JAG Metals 350 and secure a position to fight for the championship in Homestead-Miami on Nov. 17. The race saw ten drivers fail to finish with mostly mechanical issues. There were only three caution periods caused by on track incidents, which is quite low for a Camping World Truck Series race. The No. 42 truck, driven by Tommy Joe Martins was involved in an accident on lap five. The No. 83 truck, driven by Patrick Emerling was involved in a single-car crash on lap twenty-seven. Surprisingly, both the pole winner and the race winner were involved in a crash. However, neither suffered major damage and were both able to continue. The pole winner was Justin Haley, scoring his first career pole. Haley led the first 25 laps until he was passed by Christopher Bell, who only led the following twelve. Christopher Bell won the first stage of the race and lost the lead to pit for service. He did not lead again until lap 118 and only led for eight laps. Noah Gragson, fresh off his win at Martinsville Speedway, won stage two. He took the lead with less than ten laps remaining in the stage. The remainder of the race went caution-free and featured six lead changes. The next race is the penultimate race of the season: the Lucas Oil 150 at Phoenix Raceway. After that race, the four championship contenders will battle for the championship at Homestead-Miami Speedway.