Bell Wins First Truck Title

Photo Courtesy: Associated Press

Rajan Khanna/Staff Reporter

Christopher Bell took victory in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series Championship at Homestead-Miami Speedway with non-playoff contender Chase Briscoe taking the win. Briscoe finally won his first race after many strong finishes and dominant runs. He was the center of a controversial finish at the WinStar Online Gaming 400 at Texas Motor Speedway. Christopher Bell was declared the winner after video evidence showed he was ahead when the race-ending caution was displayed but many people were in denial on the results. Briscoe did make the playoffs based on his point standing but was eliminated. Briscoe redeemed his season by taking the win at Homestead-Miami Speedway after starting on pole position. Briscoe was also named Sunoco Rookie of the Year for 2017. Unfortunately, the truck series lost the team Briscoe and his teammate Austin Cindric drove for, as Brad Keselowski Racing closed its doors when the season concluded. They are both expected to gain valuable seat time in the NASCAR XFINITY Series on Roush-Fenway Racing and Team Penske. Christopher Bell crossed the finish line second and won the title. Bell had an amazing season and won five races. Bell was the obvious favorite for the title since he drove the number 4 truck fielded by Kyle Busch Motorsports. KBM is known for building the best trucks on the track and are always a threat to win. With his great performance this season, including a win in the NASCAR Xfinity Series, Bell will drive the number 20 car for Joe Gibbs Racing full time in 2018. He will be joined by Brandon Jones who will drive the number 19 car. Ryan Preece will drive the number 18 car and share seat-time with various Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers.